2018 Manawatu Hospitality Award - Home PDF Print E-mail


Nominations Close 15 JULY

NOMINATE: Click MHA nominations 2018 to make choices of who you believe is deserving of an Award this year. The top five from each category will become finalists. These finalists will then be voted on. Chef, Emerging Chef and Barista nominations however, will be invited to compete in a judged competition. 

VOTING - Takes place Monday 6 August - Sunday 9 September. This is done online using an external party via Survey Monkey. Judged Categories take place Monday 17 September-Friday 5 October.

Peer Voted Categories:

Davis Food Ingredients Cafe of the Year
Bidfood Restaurant of the Year
Gilmours Central Pub/Tavern of the Year
Stonecold Distributors Ethnic Restaurant of the Year
Riverlea Caterer of the Year 
Tootill Electrical Takeaway of the Year 
MHA Bar/Night Spot of the Year 
NZME Supplier of the Year 
Restaurant Association NZ Hospitality Personality of the Year 
Nestle Professional Conference and Event Venue of the Year
A percentage of the overall score comes from Mystery Judging for Café, Restaurant, and Pub/Tavern of the Year.

Judged Categories:

  • Ebony Coffee Barista of the Year (Heats to be held 22 September: Final 3 October)
  • Chef’s Choice Chef of the Year (Competition at UCOL on 23 September)
  • UCOL Emerging chef of the Year (Competition at UCOL on 23 September)
  • BCE Catering Equipment Maitre D’/F&B Host of the Year 
  • Steinlager Waiter of the Year
  • Hospitality NZ Bartender of the Year

Maitre D’/F&B Host, Waiter, and Bartender are judged in the workplace

The Sharon Mann Memorial Trophy for Unrecognized Contribution to the Hospitality industry.  This is an award to recognise someone who champions hospitality in our region but does not fit into the above categories. The winner will be decided by committee decision. Individuals can make written applications to the committee in support of themselves or a nominee who they recognise is deserving of the Award. Applications close on 30 September 2018. Email applications to Sharon Mann Award.

The Awards presentations will be held on Sunday 11 November at the Awapuni Raceway Function Centre. Keep the date free!

The 2018Manawatu Hospitality Awards will not be possible without the continued support of our sponsors.  Follow us on Facebook: Manawatu Hospitality Awards